History of Gateshead Fell RFC

Originally formed as Bensham RFC in 1870s.

Bensham RFC was one of the seven clubs to found Durham County Rugby Football Union (DCRFU) on 10 October 1876.

The other clubs were

  • Darlington
  • Durham University
  • Houghton
  • Stockton
  • Sunderland and
  • Westoe

This page is under construction and will be updated from time to time.